The Tasmanian Land Conservancy employs a dynamic, highly skilled staff who collectively boast a vast array of expertise. The team predominantly work part-time and achieve enormous results, always with conservation at the heart of every task.

Banner photo: Matthew Newton

James Hattam

Chief Executive Officer

James is a conservation ecologist with a passion for connecting people to the natural world through shared experiences, storytelling and community involvement. He has been working with government and not-for-profits in Victoria and Tasmania for more than ten years, with experience in conservation covenants, philanthropic programs, marketing, communications, community engagement and not-for-profit governance.

Sally Bryant

Conservation Science & Planning Manager

sbryant@tasland.org.au

Threatened species expert Dr Sally Bryant heads the TLC’s science program with her vast experience in research, ecological survey and understanding natural systems.

Margie Jenkin

Philanthropy & Engagement Manager

mjenkin@tasland.org.au

Margie is passionate about Tasmania’s environment and the role people play in its protection. She has previously worked with Landcare Tasmania, the Environmental Defenders Office (EDO) Tasmania and with the Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife Service. Margie lives on the flanks of kunanyi/Mt Wellington in a perpetual reno with her partner and some chickens.

Sean Guinane

Reserves Coordinator

sguinane@tasland.org.au

Shane McHugh

Business Development Manager

smchugh@tasland.org.au

Leigh Walters

Operations Manager

lwalters@tasland.org.au

Andrew Cameron

Conservation Programmes Officer, Midlands Conservation Fund

acameron@tasland.org.au

Rowena Hamer

Conservation Scientist

rhamer@tasland.org.au

Rowena moved to Tasmania in 2014 to start a PhD on devils, quolls and cats in the Midlands, and hasn’t managed to leave. She tries to spend as much of her time as possible out and about on our reserves, but when in the office is usually to be found unleashing her inner nerd on our ecological monitoring data.

Emma McPhee

Program Support – Philanthropy & Engagement and Science

emcphee@tasland.org.au

Emma supports her colleagues to harness technology and build better connections across community engagement, science and reserves management, and has just launched into an exciting new role delivering Land for Wildlife. A background in environmental interpretation and a degree in environmental management has fostered her deep love of nature and inner wildlife geek.

Sophie Marshall

Planned Giving Coordinator

smarshall@tasland.org.au

Helen Morgan

Conservation Programs Officer

hmorgan@tasland.org.au

Anna Povey

Conservation Programmes Officer

apovey@tasland.org.au

Joe Quarmby

Conservation Ecologist

jquarmby@tasland.org.au

Joe recently joined the TLC to deliver the Kingborough Environmental Fund covenant program. He brings more than 15 years’ experience as a botanist with a background in threatened species conservation and vegetation management. He previously worked an ecologist for the South Australian Government before moving to Tasmania and working as a botanical consultant. Joe loves getting out into nature and searching for rare plants.

Phillip Laroche

Community Engagement Coordinator

plaroche@tasland.org.au

With a diverse background in entrepreneurship, eco and cultural tourism management, thematic interpretation and event coordination, Phill is passionate about immersive story-telling and curating meaningful opportunities and experiences so people may benefit, and benefit from, nature.

Oliver Strutt

Conservation Programmes Officer

ostrutt@tasland.org.au

Oliver works with the many private landholders who contribute to nature conservation in Tasmania. He loves that work, and getting out to explore every part of the state. With a degree in Natural Environment and Wilderness Studies, Oliver has previously been employed in native plant propagation, revegetation, weed control and environmental management.

Matt Taylor

Conservation Scientist

mtaylor@tasland.org.au

Matt is an ecologist and coordinator of TLC’s WildTracker and Land for Wildlife Programs. He has worked with TLC for 11 years, visiting every corner of Tasmania. Matt is completing a PhD with UTAS, focusing on the socio-ecology of wildlife conservation on private land. He lives on a farm in the Huon Valley with his wife Anna and two young children – Radha and Casey.

Jane Rawson

Communications Coordinator

jrawson@tasland.org.au

Jane comes to the TLC after writing for Victoria's environment department and The Conversation. Also a novelist and essayist, she moved to Tasmania from Melbourne’s inner west so she could be closer to wildlife.